Motor Vehicle Offenses In Massachusetts

Experienced MA criminal defense lawyer for cases involving negligent operation, leaving scene of personal or property injury, operating with suspended license

Motor vehicle offenses, Massachusetts

Attorney Bradley has handled hundreds of operating under the influence and motor vehicles cases ranging from minor motor vehicle civil infractions to motor vehicle homicide in district and superior courts.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a motor vehicle related offense contact Attorney Bradley for a free consultation today!

Negligent Operation:

Imprisonment for not less than 2 weeks, not more than 2 years; or not les than $20, not more than $200, plus $250 Head Injury Fee, or both imprisonment and fine.

The Commonwealth must prove that the person driving a car did so in a way that endangered the lives or safety of any person or of the public. Negligent operation covers a broad range of offenses, and for that reason, is treated seriously and carries a penalty that is severe. Negligent operation often accompanies an OUI charge.

RMV may revoke license for 60 days or, for subsequent offenses within 3 years, for 1 year. Junior operator's license or learner's permit for 90 days for the first offense, and 1 year for subsequent offenses.

Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury or Property Damage:

2 weeks to 2 years in jail, along with a fine, and a 60-day license suspension. Where the accident caused personal injury, the penalty carries a minimum mandatory 6 months in jail.

In order to prove the charge of Leaving the Scene of Personal or Property Injury the Commonwealth must prove that the defendant did the following 5 things:

1) Operated a motor vehicle,
2) On a public way within the Commonwealth,
3) That the defendant was involved in an accident involving injury to property or to a person,
4) That he or she knew he was involved in an accident,
5) And that he or she left the scene without stopping to provide name, address, and registration.

The Criminal Justice system, including the Police, Judges, and District Attorneys has very little tolerance for people who leave the scene of an accident.

Those charged with leaving the scene are immediately fighting an uphill battle. The sooner you contact an attorney, the sooner you can present a solid defense.

Operating with a Suspended License

Many people are often unaware that their license had been suspended. The law states that it is the responsibility of every individual to know the status of his or her own license.

A person's license can be suspended for many reasons such as, failure to pay a ticket, or failure to pay a fine, failure to pay outstanding parking tickets, failure to appear for a schedule court appearance (see Warrant Removal).

The penalty for driving on a suspended license is a 10-day house of correction sentence, as well as a maximum fine of up to $1000. Upon any guilty finding the Registry of Motor Vehicles shall suspend your license for an additional 60 days.

If a person has a limited criminal record it may be possible to arrange for the charges to be dismissed on court costs. In such situations it is helpful if the offender has taken the necessary measures to reinstate their license.

Not being able to drive can cause an endless list of problems for any given person. These matters can usually be resolved in a short amount of time. Contact Attorney Bradley to review your options.

Top